DCambic Plate Growth

It’s now been about a week since I plated the DCambic sample. A few days ago I began to see growth of what appear to be yeast colonies growing on the malt extract plate. They are round with small peaks in the middle, and appear to be a little glossy. It’s hard to tell right now because I am not opening the plates just yet to avoid contamination. I want to leave these out for at least three weeks to allow any slow-growing organisms to appear.

There is also some yeast growth in the liquid sample. I began to see a layer of sediment a few days ago. No pellicle or visible signs of fermentation, but the pH dropped to the mid 4 range (using strips to check) and there was a somewhat Bretty aroma. There is a little funk but the dominant smell is sort of fruity, not unlike canned peaches. I am stepping that up to 250mL as we speak.

Once I’m done with incubating I will streak out the individual organisms and grow them in liquid. It’ll be interesting to see if I get the same characteristics as in the current liquid sample.

3 thoughts on “DCambic Plate Growth

  1. jeffreyecrane

    I’ve tried to read through all your posts, but I may have missed the part about going from plate to fermentation. I assume you use a loop to grab the colony off the plate. And then what is your step up procedure (10 ml of 1.020 wort in 25 ml beaker, then 50 ml….)?

    Reply
    1. DC Yeast Lab Post author

      I actually didn’t cover it in much detail except in a comment, while I was trying to troubleshoot the process. This is pretty much my exact procedure: http://braukaiser.com/wiki/index.php?title=Growing_Yeast_from_a_Plate
      My amounts are about 7 mL, 40 mL (both weak wort, around 1.020) and 200mL (around 1.040), trying to go for a step of 5x each time. Sometimes that’s enough yeast for a one-gallon batch, but if not I can then step up to 1 L or more. I end up using the “repitch from slurry” tab on mrmalty to estimate my pitching amounts.

      Also, I wanted to note–since you were interested in the brilliant green agar–that in this case it looks like I diluted the sample enough that I won’t need to use antibiotic agar to separate the yeast (i.e. they’re not growing on top of each other or anything). So, you might want to experiment with malt extract or potato media before trying more complex stuff.

      Reply
  2. Pingback: DCY02 & DCY03: DCambic Isolates | DC Yeast Lab

Leave a Reply

